canning · recipes

Pineapple Guava Jam

My mother has a pineapple guava bush in her yard, and this year, it has been particularly prolific. The pineapple guava is neither, but, rather, a member of the myrtle family, acca sellowiana. It is an evergreen perennial shrub, that is wonderful as an ornamental, as well as, a welcome addition to a perennial food forest.

20161016_085116

My favorite way to eat this lovely fruit is fresh. The scent is largely lost when cooked. But jam is a close second.

When looking around for inspiration, most of the jam recipes I came across only used the inside, scooped out, like you would when eating fresh. The skin is somewhat tough, but given that I would be cooking it for jam, I didn’t suspect that it would be a problem. And, I was right. I greatly preferred the skin on jam. It also increases the yield.

Pineapple Guava Jam

  • 4 cups chopped pineapple guava, blossom end removed
  • 2 cups sugar

Cook the ingredients over medium low for 20 minutes, until the skins are soft. Put through the medium disk on a food mill. Return to pot and cook over medium high until thickened, and it passes the Sheet or Plate Test.

20161021_123659

This particular recipe yields 2 half-pints, or 1 pint. I didn’t end up water bath canning my pint, I’m just going to eat it. But if I had wanted to, I would have processed the half-pints for 10 minutes, or 15 minutes for a pint, in a water bath canner.

20161021_173519

When tested with a pH meter, it registers 4.54, which is safe for water bath canning. If you don’t have meter and are worried, I would add 1 Tbsp. of bottled lemon juice to the recipe.

Leave a Reply

