recipes

Green Beans with Shallots and Crispy Prosciutto

I harvested a fair amount of green beans today. So as I was sitting on my bed, snapping them, and feeding the bits to my dog, I thought that I would turn some of them into this dish, green beans with shallots and crispy prosciutto.

The recipe is simple:

  • 4 cups green beans, trimmed and snapped into 2 inch pieces
  • 4 slices prosciutto, sliced thin
  • 1 shallot, sliced thin
  • 2 Tbsp. oil or fat, I used a combination of schmaltz and butter

First thing I did, was to steam them until almost done. I do this with most green beans, so as to have them available for different dishes, or to toss into salad.

Then I crisped up the prosciutto in 1 Tbsp. of schmaltz, over medium low heat. I removed the prosciutto to paper towels, and sweated off the shallots in the remaining fat.

20160929_151913

Then it’s just a matter of heating back up the green beans by adding them to the pan with the shallots, and finishing the whole thing with some butter, salt and pepper. Into a serving dish it goes, to be topped with the crispy prosciutto for serving.

20160929_152410

Leave a Reply

