recipes

Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

I like to buy my chickens whole, four at a time. Generally, I will roast one whole, and break the others down, and freeze the parts for later.

But the carcasses I roast, and make brown chicken stock. I’m not particularly fussy with my stocks, roasted bones and bits, a bag of vegetable scraps from the freezer, generally carrots, onions, celery, mushroom stems, parsley/thyme stems, fennel stalks etc. Load it all into the stockpot, fill with water, add a little salt, peppercorns and bay leaves, and let it cook for a few hours, tasting it periodically, and call it done when the taste stops improving. This gets cooled down, and refrigerated overnight.

In the morning, the stock gets de-fatted, and most of it bought back up to a boil, and pressure canned. But one gallon, that gets turned into chicken noodle soup.

The best part of homemade chicken noodle soup is the homemade eggy noodles.

 

The soup is rather basic,

  • 1 gallon homemade brown chicken stock
  • 1 cup red onion, diced
  • 1/2 cup carrot, diced
  • 1/2 cup celery, diced
  • 1 cup cooked chicken meat, diced
  • 2 Tbsp. fresh dill, minced

But the noodles,

  • 2 cups semolina flour
  • 1 cup AP flour
  • 5 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp. olive oil

20160924_102423

I’m not a fan of an all AP flour noodle. Semolina is so much nicer. It goes together like any pasta dough. Mix the ingredients, knead for a little while. I always, start with less AP flour, like a 1/2 cup, and then add as needed while kneading. Let rest for about 1/2 hour. Then roll on pasta machine to desired thickness.

20160924_114358

I like these noodles thick, I stop at 3 on my Kitchenaid pasta roller attachment.

20160924_115702

 

When the rest of the soup is to my liking, I bring it up to a boil, and add the noodles. These thick noodles will take a while for fresh noodles, like 7-10 minutes. But, oh, are they worth it.

20160924_115805

The noodles will continue to absorb liquid as it cools, so, for reheating, adding water  or stock will likely be necessary.

Leave a Reply

