canning · recipes

Canned Salsa

Where I live it’s nearing the end of the tomato season. I have been battling gophers this summer in my back yard. They took out almost all of my tomato plants, so, for salsa, I have been purchasing organic tomatoes from my local farmer’s market. I have never found a canned salsa recipe that sounded like it would work for me. From my perspective, most contained way too much liquid. They never remove any of the liquid in the tomatoes, and they add liquid in the form of citrus juice or vinegar. Even in my recipe, after canning you are likely to see about a 1/2 inch layer of water separated from the rest of the salsa. I would imagine others would be more like half of the jar, which creates a lot more work just canning water.

20160917_094957My process is to peel the tomatoes. Then chop them, salt them, and allow them to drain overnight.

20160917_102359-copy
In the morning, my 14 lbs. of tomatoes measure about 12 cups.
20160918_083448
The 12 cups of tomatoes get roughly pureed in batches in a blender with the rest of my ingredients.
  • 1 large red onion, chopped
  • 16 fresno chiles, de-seeded and chopped
  • 20 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tsp. oregano
  • 8 cubes of New Mexican chile puree, this is something that I make, chipotle in adobe could be substituted
  • 1/4 cup parsley
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • Hot sauce, salt and pepper, to taste

While cool, I measure the pH with a pH meter. This batch initially measure 4.86. So, I added 2 tsp. of citric acid, reducing the pH to 3.69, acceptable for water bath canning, which needs to be below 4.6.

20160918_093731
After that it’s just a matter of bringing the salsa up to boiling, filling hot pint jars with salsa and processing for 15 minutes. This batch yielded 9 pints.
20160918_095952
Beautiful salsa, ready for winter.
Leave a Reply

